Free U.S. shipping on orders $35+ · Subscribe & save

Flow vs Ultra Pouches: Labels, Price per Pouch, Duration

R

Roon Team

October 7, 2026·10 min read
Flow vs Ultra Pouches: Labels, Price per Pouch, Duration

Flow vs Ultra Pouches: Labels, Price per Pouch, Duration

In the flow vs ultra pouches debate, Flow and Ultra Focus both skip nicotine and caffeine, but they run on different engines. Flow uses small mushroom extracts plus 5 mg theacrine and says it lasts 4 hours. Ultra Focus uses Enfinity paraxanthine, a caffeine metabolite, and says 1 to 2 hours. Ultra Energy is a different product entirely: 180 mg caffeine per pouch. Below is every number from each brand's own label and product page, checked October 7, 2026.

Key Takeaways

  • Flow delivers 30 mg lion's mane 10:1 extract, 15 mg cordyceps 10:1, 15 mg reishi 10:1, and 5 mg theacrine per pouch. The "300MG" on the can is the multiplied equivalent, not the extract weight.
  • Ultra Focus lists paraxanthine (Enfinity), L-theanine, Alpha GPC, ginseng, B6, and B12, but does not publish per-ingredient milligrams.
  • Ultra Energy is 180 mg caffeine per pouch. That is a different comparison from Flow vs Ultra Focus.
  • Flow says effects last 4 hours. Ultra Focus says 1 to 2 hours. Neither has published a pharmacokinetic study of its finished pouch.

Flow vs Ultra: The Spec Table (Checked October 7, 2026)

FlowUltra FocusUltra EnergyUltra Sleep
Main activesLion's mane 30 mg (10:1), cordyceps 15 mg (10:1), reishi 15 mg (10:1), theacrine 5 mg, B12 20 mcgEnfinity paraxanthine, L-theanine, Alpha GPC, ginseng, B6, B12 (mg not published)Caffeine 180 mg, L-theanine, B3, B6, B12Melatonin 1 mg, L-theanine 50 mg, magnesium gluconate 30 mg, chamomile 10 mg, passionflower 10 mg, lemon balm 12 mg
Caffeine0 mg0 mg180 mg0 mg
Stated onset~5 minNot statedNot statedNot stated
Stated duration4 hours1 to 2 hoursNot statedN/A (sleep product)
Brand's daily use4 to 6 (product page also says "as many as you want")Do not exceed 4Do not exceed 2Not stated
Pouches per can2015Not publishedNot published
List price per can$20.00 (single-flavor can; product page sells bundles)$16.00$16.00$16.00
Lowest price/pouch$0.35 (15-can bundle)~$0.69 (35% plan)Not computable (count not published)Not computable (count not published)
Amazon price/pouch$0.49 (5-can, $49)$0.84 (3-can, $38)Not listedNot listed
FlavorsWintergreen, Cool Mint (sold out Oct 7), Citrus, Blue Razz, Sour AppleCool Mint, Wintergreen, Tropical, Watermelon, Blue Razz, Variety PackSweet Mint, Wintergreen, Black CherryHoney Lemon

What Is the Difference Between Flow and Ultra Pouches?

Mushrooms plus theacrine vs paraxanthine plus Alpha GPC.

Flow is a mushroom-based oral pouch. Each pouch contains three 10:1 mushroom extracts (lion's mane, cordyceps, reishi) and 5 mg of theacrine, explained. Theacrine is a purine alkaloid structurally related to caffeine, found naturally in certain teas. Flow says it absorbs through the gum, works in about 5 minutes, and lasts 4 hours.

Ultra Focus is built around Enfinity paraxanthine, a dimethylxanthine that is caffeine's primary metabolite in humans. Ultra pairs it with L-theanine, Alpha GPC, ginseng, and B vitamins. Effects last 1 to 2 hours, 3 to 4 pouches per day recommended. For a full breakdown, see our Ultra pouches review.

Name this plainly: "caffeine free" on either can means no caffeine molecule. It does not mean "no stimulant." Both theacrine and paraxanthine are purine alkaloids in the same chemical family as caffeine, acting on some of the same receptors. To understand what Enfinity paraxanthine is, we have a separate guide.

Flow's Label vs Flow's Front of Can

Flow's Supplement Facts panel lists these amounts per pouch:

IngredientAmount per pouch
Lion's mane (Hericium erinaceus 10:1 extract)30 mg
Cordyceps (Cordyceps militaris 10:1 extract)15 mg
Reishi (Ganoderma lucidum 10:1 extract)15 mg
Vitamin B12 (methylcobalamin)20 mcg (833% DV)
Theacrine5 mg
Allulose100 mg
Glycerol50 mg

The front of the can reads "Lion's Mane 300MG." That math comes from the 10:1 extract convention: 30 mg of a 10:1 extract is marketed as the equivalent of 300 mg of dried mushroom. Amazon's listing adds all three mushrooms into "600mg." This is a common industry practice, not unique to Flow, but if you are comparing to mushroom studies, the number you need is the extract weight: 30 mg, 15 mg, and 15 mg.

For a study-by-study look at those doses, see our full Flow pouches review. Other ingredients: natural flavor essence, microcrystalline cellulose, sodium chloride. Flow says no sucralose; the pouch uses allulose.

Is Flow or Ultra Better for Focus?

By each brand's own numbers:

Flow: Felt in about 5 minutes. Lasts 4 hours (product page hero says "4 hours"). Recommended use is 4 to 6 per day. The FAQ notes that "most people feel the full effect after about a week of daily use," suggesting a loading period.

Ultra Focus: Effects last 1 to 2 hours. Use 3 to 4 per day, do not exceed 4. Ultra's FAQ says not to take Focus pouches within 4 to 6 hours of bedtime.

Ultra Focus does not publish per-ingredient milligrams on its product page, making a milligram-to-milligram comparison impossible from public information. Neither brand has published a pharmacokinetic study of its finished pouch. Duration claims on both pages are the brand's own statements, not independently verified.

Flow vs Ultra Energy: A Different Comparison

Ultra Energy is not Ultra Focus. Ultra Energy contains 180 mg caffeine per pouch, which Ultra describes as "roughly 1 large cup of coffee, or 1 energy drink." Ultra says not to exceed 2 per day, putting the daily max at 360 mg, under the FDA's general guidance of 400 mg for healthy adults.

Flow has zero caffeine. Anyone choosing between Flow and Ultra Energy is choosing between a caffeine dose and no caffeine. These are fundamentally different products.

Ultra Energy launched September 14, 2026, and ships in reserved batches. As of October 7, the September 14 batch was sold out and the October 8 batch was "97% reserved." See our Ultra Energy review for the full breakdown. One note: Ultra Sleep (1 mg melatonin) is a nighttime product, not a Flow competitor.

Flow vs Ultra Price per Pouch

Both brands lean on subscription bundles. All prices checked October 7, 2026.

Flow: A single-flavor can lists at $20.00 ($1.00/pouch). Bundles on flowpouch.com run from $29.00 for 3 cans ($0.48/pouch) to $105.00 for 15 cans ($0.35/pouch), presented as monthly-refill subscriptions you can pause or cancel. Pricing has changed multiple times; confirm current prices before ordering. Amazon sells a 5-can pack at $49.00 ($0.49/pouch). The "Labor Day Sale" label was still running on October 7 despite the holiday being weeks past; the bundle price is effectively the real price.

Ultra Focus: 3 cans for $48.00 on takeultra.com, subscription-only on that page, with plan discounts of 25% to 35% (Ultra's help center says subscribers save up to 45%). At 35% off, that is roughly $0.69/pouch. Amazon sells a 3-can pack at $38.00 ($0.84/pouch). One-time orders are available through a separate URL in Ultra's help center.

Flow is cheaper per pouch at every tier, partly because Flow cans hold 20 pouches vs Ultra's 15. But daily cost is a different calculation. If you follow the brands' recommended usage (Flow: 4 to 6/day; Ultra Focus: 3 to 4/day), daily spending overlaps.

Ingredients and Sweeteners You Will Notice

Flow uses allulose and glycerol plus natural flavor essence, microcrystalline cellulose, and sodium chloride. FAQ says no sucralose. Flavors: Wintergreen, Cool Mint (sold out Oct 7), Citrus, Blue Razz, Sour Apple.

Ultra names active ingredients but does not list inactive ingredients or sweeteners on its product pages. Ultra Focus flavors: Cool Mint, Wintergreen, Tropical, Watermelon, Blue Razz, Variety Pack. Ultra Energy flavors: Sweet Mint, Wintergreen, Black Cherry.

Which Should You Choose?

Flow: Best for people who want no caffeine-family stimulant beyond 5 mg theacrine and prefer a mushroom formula with printed extract doses.

Ultra Focus: Best for a short, caffeine-free focus block from paraxanthine and Alpha GPC, if you are comfortable with undisclosed per-ingredient doses and a 1 to 2 hour window.

Ultra Energy: Best for a full energy-drink dose of caffeine (180 mg) in one pouch.

Roon: Best for a moderate caffeine dose built for a longer window: 80 mg caffeine, 60 mg L-theanine, 25 mg methylliberine (Dynamine), and 5 mg theacrine (TeaCrine) in a zero-nicotine sublingual pouch. Roon does contain caffeine, so it is not for anyone avoiding it. Duration is 6 to 8 hours. From $0.61/pouch on subscription. See 10 nicotine-free pouches compared by dose for the full field.

No overall winner. These are different products for different needs.

Two Engines, Two Different Days

Flow and Ultra Focus both claim the caffeine-free label, but one runs on mushroom extracts with 5 mg theacrine and the other runs on paraxanthine. Their stated durations differ (4 hours vs 1 to 2), their price structures differ, and their label transparency differs. Ultra Energy sits in a separate category with 180 mg caffeine. Read the Supplement Facts panel where one exists. Where it does not, ask why.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Flow or Ultra have caffeine?

Flow contains no caffeine. Ultra Focus contains no caffeine; its stimulant is Enfinity paraxanthine, a caffeine metabolite. Ultra Energy contains 180 mg caffeine per pouch. Both Flow and Ultra Focus qualify as "caffeine free," but both contain stimulant-adjacent compounds (theacrine and paraxanthine, respectively).

Is Flow stronger than Ultra?

"Stronger" is not a useful framing. Flow says effects last 4 hours. Ultra Focus says 1 to 2 hours. Flow publishes its milligram doses; Ultra Focus does not. Without published doses for Ultra Focus and independent testing of either product, comparing potency is guesswork.

How many Flow pouches can you use a day?

Flow's FAQ and Supplement Facts panel say 4 to 6 per day. The product page adds "as many as you want," which is the brand's claim, not an independent safety finding. At 6 pouches, you would take 30 mg theacrine, 180 mg lion's mane extract (10:1), and 90 mg each of cordyceps and reishi extract.

Can you buy Flow or Ultra without a subscription?

Yes. Flow's own site sells bundles as monthly refills, but it is on Amazon in 5-can packs at $49.00, no subscription. Ultra Focus is on Amazon at $38.00 for 3 cans, and Ultra's help center lists a separate one-time purchase link. See pouches you can buy without a subscription for more options.

Are Flow pouches healthier than Ultra pouches?

Neither is evaluated by the FDA for safety or efficacy the way a drug would be. Both are dietary supplements. Flow publishes full Supplement Facts with per-ingredient doses; Ultra Focus lists ingredient names without milligrams. Transparency is not the same as safety, but it is a prerequisite for informed choices. See Ultra pouches side effects and our full Flow pouches review.

Which lasts longer, Flow or Ultra?

By the brands' own claims: Flow says 4 hours per pouch, Ultra Focus says 1 to 2 hours. Neither has published a pharmacokinetic study of its finished product, so these are self-reported marketing figures.

When You Want Caffeine That Lasts Past Lunch

Both Flow and Ultra Focus promise focus without caffeine, but the windows are short (1 to 4 hours by their own claims), and Flow suggests a week of daily loading before full effects arrive. Ultra Energy swings the other direction with 180 mg caffeine in one pouch, nearly half of the 400 mg a day the FDA cites for healthy adults, in a single serving.

If what you want is a moderate caffeine dose that covers a full work block, Roon sits in the gap. Each pouch delivers 80 mg caffeine (under half of Ultra Energy's 180 mg), 60 mg L-theanine, 25 mg methylliberine (Dynamine), and 5 mg theacrine (TeaCrine). Methylliberine is the ingredient that extends the window: in a randomized, double-blind crossover PK study (n=12), co-administration of 100 mg methylliberine with 150 mg caffeine cut caffeine's oral clearance from 41.9 to 17.1 L/hr and extended its half-life from 7.2 to 15 hours, with no increase in peak concentration. That study used 4x Roon's methylliberine dose and roughly 1.9x its caffeine, so the result is directional, not a direct measurement of the pouch. The felt window is 6 to 8 hours, and you should stop at least 8 hours before bed.

Roon is not caffeine-free, and it is not a mushroom pouch. It starts at $9.16 per tin ($0.61 per pouch) on a 12-tin subscription, or $15.00 per tin one-time. If you are specifically avoiding caffeine, Flow or Ultra Focus is the better fit. If you want caffeine that holds, try Roon.

Related from Roon

Written by Roon Team

Share

The Roon Journal

Sharper days, in your inbox.

Subscribe for exclusive discounts, early drops, and quiet notes on focus, sleep, and cognitive performance, straight from the Roon team.

  • Early access
  • Save up to 54%
  • New posts & tips

The Roon Community

Follow along on Instagram and TikTok.