Is Bloom Energy Drink Good for You? A Label-by-Label Review
Roon Team

Is Bloom Energy Drink Good for You? A Label-by-Label Review
Is Bloom energy drink good for you? It is a zero-sugar, 180 mg caffeine drink that sells itself on gut health, calm focus, and "no aspartame." Some of that is real. Some of it is marketing that falls apart the moment you flip the can around and read what is actually printed there. This review walks through every ingredient on the label, names the doses Bloom discloses and the ones it does not, and tells you who should skip it entirely.
Key takeaways:
- 180 mg of natural caffeine per 12 oz can, sourced from green coffee bean extract, is a moderate-to-high single dose that eats nearly half the FDA's 400 mg daily ceiling for healthy adults.
- L-theanine and Panax ginseng are listed but their milligram amounts are not on the label. You cannot verify whether they hit clinically studied doses.
- "No aspartame" does not mean no artificial sweetener. Bloom is sweetened with sucralose, which is a synthetic sweetener, not a natural one.
- The prebiotic fiber claim sounds good, but without a published gram amount, there is no way to evaluate whether it does anything in your gut.
What Is Actually in a Can of Bloom?
Bloom Sparkling Energy is a 12 fl oz carbonated drink with 10 calories, zero sugar, and a list of functional ingredients. Here is what the label shows:
| Ingredient | Disclosed Dose | Role |
|---|---|---|
| Natural caffeine (green coffee bean extract) | 180 mg | Stimulant, primary energy driver |
| Galactomannan prebiotic fiber | Not disclosed | Marketed for gut health |
| Taurine | Not disclosed | Amino acid; cell hydration (more on taurine) |
| L-theanine | Not disclosed | Studied for focus and calm at 200-400 mg/day |
| Sucralose | Not disclosed | Zero-calorie artificial sweetener |
| Panax ginseng root extract | Not disclosed | Studied for cognition at 200-400 mg/day |
| Lychee fruit extract (patented) | Not disclosed | Antioxidant; limited human data |
| Green tea leaf extract | Not disclosed | Polyphenol source |
| Apple cider vinegar | Not disclosed | Likely trace; marketing ingredient |
| B vitamins (niacinamide, B6, B12) | Disclosed on Nutrition Facts | Energy metabolism cofactors |
Caffeine and the B vitamins are the only ingredients with printed amounts. Everything else is name only.
Bloom's Caffeine Content: Where 180 mg Lands
A single can of Bloom delivers 180 mg of caffeine. For context:
| Drink | Caffeine | Serving Size |
|---|---|---|
| Bloom Sparkling Energy | 180 mg | 12 fl oz |
| Alani Nu Energy | 200 mg | 12 fl oz |
| Celsius Original | 200 mg | 12 fl oz |
| Red Bull | 80 mg | 8.4 fl oz |
At 180 mg, Bloom is lower than Alani Nu and Celsius but more than double a standard Red Bull. It consumes 45% of the FDA's 400 mg daily guideline in one sitting. A morning coffee plus an afternoon Bloom puts you above 300 mg for the day. Fine for most healthy adults, but know the number. For more context, see where 180 mg lands on the caffeine scale.
The Undisclosed Doses: Bloom's Biggest Red Flag
Bloom's product page says L-theanine and ginseng "support cognitive function and promote a sense of calm." The can lists both ingredients. What the can does not list is how much of either one you are getting.
This matters. L-theanine has real evidence for reducing perceived stress and improving attention, but the doses studied in clinical trials typically range from 200 to 400 mg per day. Panax ginseng research generally uses 200 to 400 mg of standardized extract. If Bloom's L-theanine dose is 50 mg, it is label decoration, not a functional dose. Without the number, you cannot tell.
If a brand builds its identity around "calm focus" and "real ingredients," the minimum expectation is that you can verify the doses. Bloom does not let you do that for two of its headline ingredients.
Sucralose and the "No Aspartame" Framing
Bloom markets its cans prominently as containing "no aspartame." That statement is accurate. But the sweetener Bloom actually uses is sucralose, which is also a synthetic, zero-calorie sweetener, just a different molecule.
To a casual shopper scanning a shelf, "no aspartame" reads as "no artificial sweetener." It is not. If your reason for avoiding aspartame is a broader concern about non-nutritive sweeteners, sucralose sits in the same regulatory category.
Celsius and Alani Nu also use sucralose. But Bloom leans harder into wellness-coded marketing ("prebiotic," "gut health"), which makes the gap between branding and ingredient list feel wider.
The Prebiotic Fiber Claim
Bloom lists galactomannan prebiotic fiber on the can. Galactomannan is a real soluble fiber with documented prebiotic properties. The problem, again, is dose.
Effective prebiotic fiber doses in human studies fall in the range of 5 to 10 grams per day. A 12 oz energy drink has limited room for fiber before it changes mouthfeel. Bloom does not publish the gram amount per can. Without that number, "gut health drink" is marketing, not a verifiable claim.
Bloom Energy Drink Side Effects to Know
Most Bloom side effects trace back to its 180 mg caffeine dose:
- Jitters and anxiety, especially if you are caffeine-sensitive or stacking it with coffee
- Sleep disruption if consumed after early afternoon (caffeine's half-life is roughly 5 hours in most adults)
- GI discomfort, which can come from caffeine itself, from carbonation, or from the prebiotic fiber
- Heart rate increase, a normal stimulant response that becomes a concern with pre-existing heart conditions
- Crash and fatigue once the caffeine wears off, typically 3 to 4 hours later (here is why even a zero-sugar can can crash you)
None of this is specific to Bloom. These are standard caffeine side effects at this dose. If Bloom is your second caffeine source of the day, the cumulative load is what causes problems.
Who Should Avoid Bloom?
- Teens and children. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that adolescents do not consume energy drinks because of their stimulant content.
- Pregnant or nursing individuals. Talk to your clinician before consuming any high-caffeine product.
- People with heart conditions or high blood pressure. Talk to your clinician. 180 mg of caffeine in a single serving is a meaningful cardiovascular stimulus.
- Anyone with high caffeine sensitivity. If a small coffee makes you jittery, 180 mg in a can will be worse.
- People already stacking multiple caffeine sources. A morning coffee (95-150 mg) plus a Bloom (180 mg) puts you at 275-330 mg before dinner.
Is Bloom Better Than Alani Nu or Celsius?
All three are zero-sugar, sucralose-sweetened, caffeinated beverages marketed toward health-conscious consumers. The differences are real but small.
| Feature | Bloom | Alani Nu | Celsius |
|---|---|---|---|
| Caffeine per can | 180 mg | 200 mg | 200 mg |
| Sugar | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| Sweetener | Sucralose | Sucralose + Ace-K | Sucralose |
| Calories | 10 | 10 | 10 |
| Prebiotic fiber | Yes (undisclosed dose) | No | No |
| L-theanine listed | Yes (undisclosed dose) | Yes (undisclosed dose) | No |
| Ginseng listed | Yes (undisclosed dose) | Yes (undisclosed dose) | No |
| All doses disclosed | No | No | Partial (MetaPlus blend) |
Bloom and Alani Nu share the same transparency gap: functional ingredients without functional doses. Celsius publishes its MetaPlus blend total, though individual component amounts are still unclear. None of the three gives you enough information to verify focus or performance claims. For a broader ranking, see how Bloom stacks up against the full field.
The Real Question Is What You Are Paying For
Bloom is not dangerous for most healthy adults. It delivers a moderate caffeine dose from a natural source, zero sugar, and a handful of supporting ingredients that exist in the research literature. It is a fine caffeinated drink.
But "fine" is different from what the marketing implies. The gut-health framing rests on an undisclosed fiber dose. The calm-focus framing rests on undisclosed L-theanine and ginseng doses. The "no aspartame" badge describes what is absent, not what is present (sucralose). If you are choosing Bloom because you believe it is meaningfully different from Alani Nu or Celsius, the label does not support that belief.
The best energy drink is the one whose label you can read, verify, and dose-stack around your own caffeine budget. We compared other zero-sugar options and explained why energy drinks sometimes make you more tired.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Bloom energy drink good for you?
Bloom is not harmful for most healthy adults. It delivers 180 mg of caffeine with zero sugar and 10 calories. The concern is not safety but transparency: L-theanine, ginseng, and prebiotic fiber are listed without milligram amounts, so you cannot verify whether the "focus" and "gut health" claims reflect effective doses.
How much caffeine is in Bloom energy drink?
Each 12 oz can contains 180 mg of natural caffeine from green coffee bean extract. That is 45% of the FDA's 400 mg daily guideline and slightly less than Celsius and Alani Nu (200 mg each).
What are the side effects of Bloom energy drink?
Common side effects match any moderate-to-high caffeine beverage: jitters, anxiety, GI discomfort, elevated heart rate, and sleep disruption if consumed too late. Prebiotic fiber and carbonation may add bloating for some people.
Is Bloom healthier than Alani Nu?
Both are zero-sugar, sucralose-sweetened drinks with undisclosed L-theanine and ginseng doses. Bloom has 180 mg caffeine versus Alani Nu's 200 mg and adds prebiotic fiber, but neither brand publishes functional ingredient doses. No clear winner on transparency.
Does Bloom energy drink have artificial sweeteners?
Yes. Bloom uses sucralose, a synthetic zero-calorie sweetener. The "no aspartame" claim on the can is accurate but does not mean the drink is free of artificial sweeteners.
Is Bloom energy drink safe during pregnancy?
Talk to your clinician. Bloom contains 180 mg of caffeine per can, which approaches or exceeds the 200 mg daily limit many OB-GYNs recommend during pregnancy.
Does Bloom energy drink actually help gut health?
Bloom contains galactomannan prebiotic fiber, which has documented prebiotic potential. But the gram amount per can is not published, and effective prebiotic doses in studies are typically 5 to 10 grams per day. Without knowing the dose, you cannot verify the claim.
A Drink That Prints Every Dose on the Label
The recurring theme in this review is simple: ingredients listed, doses missing. You end up trusting marketing instead of verifying numbers yourself.
Roon took a different approach. Every pouch prints every dose: 80 mg caffeine, 60 mg L-theanine, 25 mg methylliberine (Dynamine), 5 mg theacrine (TeaCrine). Four ingredients, no proprietary blends, no guessing. The format is a zero-nicotine sublingual pouch (not a canned drink), with onset in 5 to 10 minutes and a felt duration of 6 to 8 hours.
That duration comes from methylliberine slowing caffeine's clearance. A randomized, double-blind crossover PK study (n=12) found co-administration of methylliberine with caffeine cut oral clearance from 41.9 to 17.1 L/hr and extended half-life from 7.2 to 15 hours, with no increase in peak concentration. Important caveat: that study used 100 mg methylliberine + 150 mg caffeine (roughly 4x Roon's methylliberine and 1.9x its caffeine), so the effect at Roon's doses is directionally the same but not identical. The trade-off: stop at least 8 hours before bed.
Roon also contains sucralose, so it is not a clean-label product either. What it offers is full dose transparency, a lower caffeine load (80 mg), and a duration designed to outlast the 3-to-4-hour crash window most cans create. Tins start from $9.16 each (as little as $0.61 per pouch) on the 12-tin subscription. If label transparency is what bothered you about Bloom, this is worth a look.
Related from Roon
- Is Celsius Bad for You? A Science-Backed Guide
- Healthiest Energy Drinks, Ranked
- Why Energy Drinks Make You Crash
- Blood Sugar and Brain Function
Written by Roon Team






