How Much Caffeine Is in 5-hour Energy? Every Bottle Listed
Roon Team

How Much Caffeine Is in 5-hour Energy? Every Bottle Listed
How much caffeine in 5-hour Energy? A Regular Strength 5-hour Energy shot contains 200 mg of caffeine. An Extra Strength shot contains 230 mg. Both come in a 1.93 fl oz bottle. The Decaf version, now hard to find, tested at roughly 6 mg in independent lab work. All figures come from 5-hour Energy's own caffeine-facts page and third-party testing by Consumer Reports and the Center for Science in the Public Interest.
Every 5-hour Energy Product and Its Caffeine Content
| Product | Size | Caffeine (brand) | Caffeine (lab) | Brand's coffee equivalent | mg per fl oz | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular Strength shot | 1.93 fl oz | 200 mg | 207 mg (CSPI), 215 mg (CR) | A cup of premium coffee | ~104 | Current |
| Extra Strength shot | 1.93 fl oz | 230 mg | 242 mg (CR) | 12 oz premium coffee | ~119 | Current |
| Decaf shot | 1.93 fl oz | Not listed | ~6 mg (CR) | Half cup decaf coffee | ~3 | Hard to find (Sep 2026) |
| Tea shots (3 flavors) | 1.93 fl oz | Not listed | 200 mg (Caffeine Informer) | Not stated | ~104 | Discontinued |
| Extra Strength 16 oz drink | 16 fl oz | 230 mg (retail listing) | Not tested | Not stated | ~14 | Retail listing; brand page unavailable |
Sources: Brand figures from 5hourenergy.com. CSPI figure via CBS News. CR figures from the December 2012 report. The 16 oz can figure comes from retail listings and is unverified on the brand's site.
Regular Strength vs Extra Strength: Only 30 mg Apart
The two shots you will find in a gas station differ by just 30 mg: 200 mg vs 230 mg, both in 1.93 fl oz.
That concentration matters. At about 104 mg per fl oz (Regular) and 119 mg per fl oz (Extra Strength), 5-hour Energy is one of the most caffeine-dense consumer drinks sold. A cup of brewed coffee runs roughly 95 mg per 8 oz, or about 12 mg per fl oz. The Extra Strength shot is roughly 10x more concentrated, ounce for ounce. You are not drinking more caffeine than a large coffee. You are drinking the same caffeine in a fraction of the liquid.
The Brand's Coffee Comparisons (and Why They Shift)
5-hour Energy's FAQ describes the Regular Strength shot as having "about as much caffeine as a cup of the leading premium coffee" and the Extra Strength as matching 12 ounces of premium coffee. The word "premium" does real work. Premium chain coffee runs stronger than home brew, so the same 200 mg Regular is also roughly two standard 8 oz home-brewed cups. Which comparison the brand leads with shapes your sense of how much caffeine you are about to swallow.
Lab Tests vs the Label
For years, 5-hour Energy's label did not print a caffeine number. Third-party labs filled the gap:
- The Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI) measured 207 mg in the Regular Strength shot.
- Consumer Reports (December 2012) measured 215 mg Regular, 242 mg Extra Strength, and roughly 6 mg Decaf.
The brand now publishes 200 mg and 230 mg on its website. The lab numbers sit 4 to 8 percent above, within normal batch variation for a dietary supplement.
Decaf 5-hour Energy: About 6 mg
The brand's FAQ describes the Decaf shot as containing "about as much caffeine as a half cup of decaffeinated coffee." Consumer Reports measured approximately 6 mg.
Decaf is not on the brand's discontinued products list as of September 2026, but it does not appear in the online store and shows unavailable at major retailers. Hard to find.
The 16 oz Extra Strength Energy Drink
5-hour Energy also sold a carbonated 16 oz can. Retail listings and the brand's product page both state 230 mg of caffeine per can, the same total as the 2 oz shot spread across eight times the liquid. Several drink flavors now appear on the brand's discontinued list. If you find a can, the caffeine figure is likely accurate, but availability is limited.
5-hour Energy Against the 400 mg Line
The FDA has cited 400 mg per day as the amount "not generally associated with negative effects" for most healthy adults. Here is the arithmetic:
| Scenario | Total caffeine | % of 400 mg |
|---|---|---|
| 1 Regular Strength shot | 200 mg | 50% |
| 1 Extra Strength shot | 230 mg | 58% |
| 2 Regular Strength shots (brand max) | 400 mg | 100% |
| 2 Extra Strength shots (brand max) | 460 mg | 115% |
Two Regular Strength shots lands right at 400 mg. Two Extra Strength shots puts you 60 mg over, before counting any other caffeine in the day.
How 5-hour Energy Compares to Other Drinks
| Drink | Size | Caffeine | mg per fl oz |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5-hour Energy Regular | 1.93 fl oz | 200 mg | ~104 |
| 5-hour Energy Extra Strength | 1.93 fl oz | 230 mg | ~119 |
| Monster Energy | 16 fl oz | 160 mg | 10 |
| Celsius Original | 12 fl oz | 200 mg | ~17 |
| Alani Nu | 12 fl oz | 200 mg | ~17 |
| Brewed coffee | 8 fl oz | ~95 mg | ~12 |
| Roon pouch | n/a (sublingual) | 80 mg | n/a |
For a broader ranking, see which energy drink has the most caffeine.
How Long 230 mg of Caffeine Lasts
The product name is a marketing duration, not a pharmacokinetic one. Caffeine's average half-life in healthy adults is about five hours. Starting from an Extra Strength shot:
- 0 hours: 230 mg
- 5 hours: ~115 mg
- 10 hours: ~58 mg
- 15 hours: ~29 mg
A 2 PM Extra Strength shot still leaves roughly 58 mg circulating at midnight. For whether the "energy blend" actually extends the effect, see does 5-hour Energy actually work. Run your own numbers with the caffeine half-life calculator.
The Caffeine Number to Remember
Regular Strength: 200 mg. Extra Strength: 230 mg. Both in under 2 oz. Two shots a day, the brand's own ceiling, puts you at or past 400 mg before counting anything else. Know the number and plan the rest of your caffeine day around it.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much caffeine is in a 5-hour Energy shot?
A Regular Strength shot contains 200 mg of caffeine per the brand. Independent testing by CSPI measured 207 mg and Consumer Reports measured 215 mg. The gap is within normal batch variation for a dietary supplement.
How much caffeine is in 5-hour Energy Extra Strength?
Extra Strength contains 230 mg per the brand. Consumer Reports measured 242 mg. Both agree on a number in the low-to-mid 200s, packed into a 1.93 fl oz bottle.
Does Decaf 5-hour Energy have caffeine?
Yes. Consumer Reports measured about 6 mg per bottle, roughly equivalent to half a cup of decaf coffee. It is not caffeine-free, just very low. The Decaf shot is hard to find at retailers as of September 2026.
Is 5-hour Energy stronger than coffee?
Per ounce, yes, by about 10x. At roughly 104 to 119 mg per fl oz, 5-hour Energy dwarfs brewed coffee's ~12 mg per fl oz. In total milligrams, a Regular Strength shot (200 mg) is close to one strong 8 oz cup, and Extra Strength (230 mg) matches a 12 oz premium-chain pour.
How many 5-hour Energy shots can you have in a day?
The brand recommends no more than two per day, spaced several hours apart. Two Regular Strength shots total 400 mg; two Extra Strength total 460 mg. The FDA's reference for most healthy adults is 400 mg per day.
How much caffeine is in a 5-hour Energy 16 oz drink?
Retail listings and the brand's product page state 230 mg per 16 oz can, same total as the Extra Strength shot. Several flavors are on the brand's discontinued list, so availability is limited.
230 mg in Two Ounces, or 80 mg That Lasts
One Extra Strength shot is 230 mg in 1.93 fl oz. Two a day, the brand's own ceiling, is 460 mg, past the FDA's 400 mg reference before anything else in your diet. The model is a large, fast dose.
Roon works differently: 80 mg caffeine per pouch, plus 60 mg L-theanine, 25 mg methylliberine (Dynamine), and 5 mg theacrine (TeaCrine). Methylliberine slows caffeine's clearance. A randomized, double-blind, crossover PK study (n=12) found co-administration cut caffeine's oral clearance from 41.9 to 17.1 L/hr and extended its half-life from 7.2 to 15 hours (study). That interaction arm used 100 mg methylliberine and 150 mg caffeine, roughly 4x and 1.9x Roon's doses, so the magnitude will differ, but the mechanism points the same direction: a longer tail from a smaller dose. The trade-off: stop at least 8 hours before bed.
Two pouches across a day is 160 mg total, well under 400 mg. Pricing starts at $9.16 per tin on a 12-tin subscription ($0.61 per pouch) or $15.00 one-time for 4 tins ($1.00 per pouch), against the retail price of a 5-hour Energy shot. Worth comparing if a 2 oz bolus is more than you need. Try Roon or see the 5-hour Energy alternative breakdown.
Related from Roon
- Does 5-hour Energy Actually Work?
- How Much Caffeine Is in a Cup of Coffee?
- Caffeine Half-Life Calculator
- Which Energy Drink Has the Most Caffeine?
Written by Roon Team






