Does Focus Factor Work? Inside the One Trial It Cites
Roon Team

Does Focus Factor Work? Inside the One Trial It Cites
Does Focus Factor work? The brand's entire efficacy case rests on a single company-funded, six-week trial that was never published in a peer-reviewed journal. That trial enrolled 96 people and found a two-word improvement in a word-recall test. The formula itself is a standard multivitamin plus a 640 mg proprietary blend spread across sixteen ingredients, which makes it arithmetically difficult for the two best-studied compounds in the blend to reach their researched doses.
That is the short answer. The longer one involves an FTC consent order, a challenge from Prevagen's own maker, and an FDA warning about one of the blend's ingredients. None of the pages currently ranking for "does Focus Factor work" tell you all three stories.
Key Takeaways
- One trial, self-funded, never peer-reviewed. The study found a mean difference of about two words on a recall test after six weeks. That is real data, but it sits at the weakest tier of clinical evidence.
- 640 mg, sixteen ingredients, no individual doses disclosed. The simple average is roughly 40 mg per ingredient. Research-supported doses for bacopa and phosphatidylserine start at 100 to 300 mg.
- Advertising history worth knowing. The FTC collected $1 million over Focus Factor ad claims in 2004 (from a prior marketer), and the maker of Prevagen successfully challenged Focus Factor's "America's #1" claim in 2020.
- Vinpocetine is in the blend. The FDA has advised women who are pregnant or could become pregnant not to consume it.
What Focus Factor Actually Is
| Detail | Focus Factor Original |
|---|---|
| Type | Multivitamin + proprietary nootropic blend |
| Serving size | 4 tablets (up to 8) |
| Proprietary blend total | 640 mg across 16 ingredients |
| Individual ingredient doses | Not disclosed (proprietary) |
| Choline (disclosed separately) | 30 mg |
| Owner | Synergy CHC Corp. (NASDAQ: SNYR) |
| 180-tablet bottle | ~$24.99 (45 servings at 4 tablets/day) |
| Cost per serving | ~$0.56 to $1.00/day depending on retailer and bottle size |
| Current brand claim | "Clinically Tested Brain Supplement" |
Sources: Innerbody, WellnessVerge, Costco listing
The base is a full-spectrum multivitamin with standard amounts of vitamins A through E, B-complex, zinc, and others. On top of that sits the proprietary blend: DMAE bitartrate, L-glutamine, bacopa monnieri extract, L-pyroglutamic acid, phosphatidylserine, DHA, inositol, N-acetyl tyrosine, bilberry fruit extract, GABA, grape skin and seed extract, vinpocetine, huperzine A, boron, and vanadium. Everything beyond the 640 mg total is a black box.
The One Trial, Line by Line
Focus Factor's "clinically tested" language traces back to a single study. Here is what it actually found.
The trial was a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled parallel-group study. It enrolled 96 healthy adults aged 18 to 65 (mean age 49), of whom 89 completed the six-week protocol. It was conducted by Cognitive Research Corporation and led by Dr. Gary Kay, a clinical neuropsychologist and associate professor of neurology at Georgetown University, who is also president of that contract research organization. The study was sponsored by Factor Nutrition Labs, the manufacturer.
The primary instruments were the Rey Auditory Verbal Learning Test (RAVLT), a widely used word-list memory test, and CogScreen, a computerized neuropsychological battery. On the RAVLT, participants taking Focus Factor showed a mean increase in word recall of 6.5 words versus 4.5 words for placebo. On a CogScreen measure of concentration and working memory, the Focus Factor group scored better at p = 0.031.
As of 2011 trade coverage, the authors said they planned to submit to a journal in Q1 2012. No peer-reviewed publication has been located since. The study is available as a PDF on the brand's website, where it appears without disclosing the sample size, the funder, or the publication status.
What a Two-Word Difference Means, Honestly
The RAVLT asks participants to memorize and recall a list of 15 words over multiple trials. A group-mean difference of two words (6.5 vs. 4.5 in improvement from baseline) is statistically detectable in a sample of 89 people, but it tells you very little about what any individual person would notice. Some participants in both groups improved more; some improved less. A two-word shift in a lab test is not the same experience as "sharper thinking" in daily life.
This does not make the trial fake. It makes it a small, manufacturer-funded, unreplicated study with the weakest publication status available. That is the bottom tier of clinical evidence, not the absence of evidence.
The Proprietary Blend Arithmetic
This is the most useful section on this page, and the math is simple.
The proprietary blend totals 640 mg and contains sixteen named ingredients. Individual amounts are not disclosed. If you divide evenly, the average is 40 mg per ingredient. In reality, some will be higher and some lower, but the total still has to add up to 640 mg.
Now compare that ceiling to published research doses:
| Ingredient | Research dose range | Fits inside 640 mg blend with 15 others? |
|---|---|---|
| Bacopa monnieri | 300 mg/day for 8 to 12 weeks (multiple RCTs, e.g., Calabrese et al. 2008) | Very unlikely. 300 mg alone would consume 47% of the blend. |
| Phosphatidylserine | 100 to 300 mg/day (Examine) | Possible at the low end only if most other ingredients are trace amounts. |
| GABA | 100 to 200 mg in acute studies | Unlikely at a meaningful dose alongside everything else. |
| DHA | 200 to 1,000 mg/day in cognitive studies | Nearly impossible within this blend size. |
The point is not that every ingredient is not supported by the evidence at low doses. The point is that a 640 mg proprietary blend makes it mathematically improbable that the two most studied nootropic ingredients in the formula reach the doses used in their own research. As Illuminate Labs noted, the bacopa share alone would need to be nearly 10x larger than the per-ingredient average to hit its studied dose.
The Claims Record
Two items from the public record that no page currently ranking for this keyword mentions together.
March 2004, FTC. Vital Basics, Inc. of Portland, Maine, and its principals settled FTC charges that they lacked adequate substantiation for efficacy claims made for Focus Factor (and a separate product called V-Factor). The consent order required $1 million in consumer redress. A second respondent, Creative Health Institute, Inc. and Dr. Kyl Smith, agreed to a $60,000 order. Note the date: this was a different corporate owner than the current one. Synergy CHC was not a party.
May 2020, National Advertising Division. Quincy Bioscience, the maker of Prevagen, challenged Focus Factor's claim that it was "America's #1 Clinically Studied and Patented Brain Health Formula." NAD, a self-regulatory body run by BBB National Programs (not a court), found the substantiation insufficient and said consumers would be unlikely to make the "nuanced distinction" the company relied on. Factor Nutrition agreed to permanently discontinue the claim. This was a voluntary outcome, not a fine or a legal penalty.
That same company, Synergy CHC, now promotes Focus Factor as the "#1 Pharmacist Recommended OTC Memory Supplement" for 2025 to 2026, based on a Pharmacy Times survey. A pharmacist-recommendation survey measures what pharmacists recommend. It is not a measure of clinical efficacy.
The Vinpocetine Question
Vinpocetine is one of the sixteen ingredients in Focus Factor's proprietary blend. Its amount is not disclosed.
In June 2019, the FDA advised women who are pregnant or could become pregnant not to take vinpocetine, citing National Toxicology Program data showing that vinpocetine decreased fetal weight and increased the chance of miscarriage in pregnant animals at blood levels similar to those reported in people after a single dose. The FDA also advised firms marketing vinpocetine products to review their product labeling for warnings.
Separately, the FDA has taken the position that vinpocetine does not meet the statutory definition of a dietary ingredient. That question remains unresolved.
Because the amount of vinpocetine in Focus Factor's blend is unknown, no one can say whether the dose is high enough to matter. But the FDA's advice is specific and actionable: if you are pregnant or could become pregnant, this is worth reading before buying any product that lists vinpocetine.
Focus Factor vs. Prevagen
These two products sit on the same pharmacy shelf and live in the same mental category for most shoppers. They also have a history of arguing about each other's advertising.
| Focus Factor Original | Prevagen Regular Strength | |
|---|---|---|
| Active concept | Multivitamin + 640 mg proprietary nootropic blend | 10 mg apoaequorin (jellyfish-derived protein) |
| Key trial | 96 enrolled, 89 analyzed, 6 weeks, manufacturer-funded, not peer-reviewed | 218 enrolled, 90 days (Madison Memory Study), manufacturer-funded |
| Primary endpoint result | ~2-word improvement in recall vs. placebo | No statistically significant improvement on any of 9 pre-specified tasks; positive findings from 30+ post hoc subgroup analyses |
| Regulatory/advertising record | FTC consent order (2004, prior owner); NAD claim withdrawal (2020) | Federal jury found certain claims misleading (Feb 2024); injunction (Dec 2024); argued before Second Circuit Feb 2026, no decision reported as of publication |
| Approximate cost per day | $0.56 to $1.00 | ~$1.00 to $1.50 |
Neither product's evidence carries the weight of its marketing. For a deeper look at Prevagen's trial and legal history, see the 218-person study and court record in our Prevagen review.
Conclusion
If you want a daily multivitamin and you are relaxed about the proprietary blend riding on top of it, Focus Factor is a defensible purchase at roughly $0.56 per day. The multivitamin base is real, and some people find value in a single bottle rather than stacking separate supplements.
If you are buying it specifically for the memory promise on the box, the evidence does not carry that weight. One small, unreplicated, non-peer-reviewed, manufacturer-funded trial is the entire case. The two ingredients with the strongest independent research, bacopa and phosphatidylserine, are almost certainly below their studied doses inside a 640 mg blend split sixteen ways.
If you are pregnant or could become pregnant, read the vinpocetine section again. The FDA's advice is clear.
For a broader look at what else occupies this aisle and how the evidence stacks up, see this guide to brain supplements at CVS and this category-wide review of brain and memory supplements. Independent assessments from outlets like Consumer Reports have also graded this category, and the results are sobering across the board.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Focus Factor just a multivitamin?
Mostly, yes. The base is a standard multivitamin and mineral complex. On top of that is a 640 mg proprietary blend of sixteen nootropic and botanical ingredients. But because those sixteen ingredients share only 640 mg total and no individual amounts are disclosed, the nootropic portion is likely present at doses well below what published research has tested. The multivitamin is the reliable part of the product.
How long does Focus Factor take to work?
The brand's one clinical trial ran for six weeks and found a modest effect on a word-recall test at that point. The brand itself says results follow "six weeks of use as directed." There are no published data showing acute (same-day) cognitive effects from Focus Factor. If an effect exists, it appears to require weeks, not hours.
Was the Focus Factor study published in a medical journal?
No peer-reviewed publication has been located. The study was presented at a gerontology conference in 2011, and the authors indicated plans to submit to a journal in early 2012. As of 2026, the study is available only as a PDF on the brand's own website. Peer review is not a guarantee of quality, but its absence means no independent scientists have formally evaluated the methods and data.
Is Focus Factor better than Prevagen?
Neither product's evidence supports its marketing claims. Focus Factor's trial found a two-word improvement in recall but was never peer-reviewed. Prevagen's larger trial failed its primary endpoints, and positive findings came from post hoc subgroup analyses. Both have advertising histories involving regulators or self-regulatory bodies. Choosing between them is less about which "works" and more about which multivitamin base (Focus Factor has one; Prevagen does not) you prefer.
Is Focus Factor safe to take every day?
For most adults, a multivitamin with the ingredients listed on Focus Factor's label is unlikely to pose safety issues at the recommended four-tablet serving. The exception worth noting: the blend contains vinpocetine, and the FDA has specifically advised women who are pregnant or could become pregnant not to consume vinpocetine. Anyone taking prescription medications or managing a health condition should talk to their clinician before adding any supplement.
Final Word
Focus Factor is a real multivitamin with a thin clinical case for its proprietary nootropic blend. Shoppers deserve to know exactly what they are getting, and what they are not, before paying for the promise on the label.
A Multivitamin With a Nootropic Claim vs. a Caffeine Pouch With a Stopwatch
Focus Factor has a genuine identity as a multivitamin. The mineral and vitamin base covers real nutritional ground, and for someone looking to consolidate their daily supplement into one product, that is a reasonable proposition regardless of the nootropic marketing. The cognitive claim is what is thin.
Roon does not contain vitamins, minerals, or vinpocetine. It is a zero sugar sublingual caffeine pouch (80 mg caffeine, 60 mg L-theanine, 25 mg methylliberine, 5 mg theacrine) designed for acute alertness across a 6 to 8 hour working window. It makes no memory claim, and 80 mg caffeine is below the doses studied in caffeine-and-memory research. Stop at least 8 hours before bed. Subscriptions start from $9.16 per tin, or as little as $0.61 per pouch. A one-time 4-tin order is $15.00 per tin.
If you need a multivitamin, Focus Factor is one. If you need to stay alert through a four-hour block this afternoon, that is the narrow lane Roon was built for.
Written by Roon Team






