Alani vs Celsius: Caffeine, Sweeteners and Price per Can
Roon Team

Alani vs Celsius: Caffeine, Sweeteners and Price per Can
An Alani Nu energy drink and an original Celsius are close to identical on the numbers that matter most: 200 mg caffeine and 10 calories per 12 oz can, zero sugar, both sweetened with sucralose. The differences are in the extras (Alani adds L-theanine, L-carnitine and acesulfame potassium; Celsius adds green tea extract, ginger and chromium), carbs (3 g vs 0 g) and price per can. One more thing most comparisons skip: since April 1, 2025, both brands belong to Celsius Holdings, so this is a choice between two product lines of one company.
Key Takeaways
- Both standard cans deliver 200 mg caffeine and 10 calories. Two of either hits the FDA's 400 mg daily reference.
- Alani uses sucralose and acesulfame potassium (Ace-K). Original Celsius uses sucralose only (current US label).
- Celsius wins on price per can from each brand's own buy channel (about $1.97 vs $2.50 one-time).
- Alani lists L-theanine on its label but does not print the amount. Celsius lists green tea extract, ginger root extract and chromium but does not print amounts for taurine or guarana either.
| Metric | Alani Nu (12 oz) | Celsius Original (12 oz) |
|---|---|---|
| Caffeine | 200 mg | 200 mg |
| Calories | 10 | 10 |
| Total carbs | 3 g | 0 g |
| Sugar | 0 g | 0 g |
| Sweeteners | Sucralose, Ace-K | Sucralose |
| Sodium | 180 mg (Cherry Slush; varies by flavor) | 5 mg |
| Caffeine sources | Caffeine, guarana seed extract | Caffeine, guarana seed extract, green tea extract |
| Notable extras | L-theanine (amt undisclosed), L-carnitine L-tartrate, Panax ginseng, inositol | Green tea extract (EGCG), ginger root extract, chromium 50 mcg (140% DV), vitamin C 60 mg |
| Biotin | 30 mcg (100% DV) | 300 mcg (1,000% DV) |
| Label warning | Not recommended for children, people sensitive to caffeine, pregnant women or women who are nursing | Not recommended for people who are caffeine sensitive, children under 18, or women pregnant or nursing |
| Price per can (one-time) | $2.50 (alaninu.com, 12-pack) | ~$1.97 (Amazon listing Celsius links to, 12-pack, checked Oct 4 2026) |
| Price per can (subscribe) | $2.37 (5% off, alaninu.com) | ~$1.87 (Amazon Subscribe & Save, checked Oct 4 2026) |
Sources: Alani Nu Cherry Slush product page; Celsius Sparkling Orange product page and label image. Amazon prices fluctuate daily.
Is Alani or Celsius Stronger? Caffeine per Can Across Every Size
Both standard 12 oz cans contain 200 mg of caffeine. If you want more per serving, Celsius offers the Essentials line at 270 mg per 16 oz can with a printed warning: "DO NOT EXCEED (1) SERVING PER DAY." If you want less, Alani sells a Mini at 100 mg per 8.4 oz can. For a deeper breakdown, see how much caffeine is in every Alani Nu can and stick and caffeine in every Celsius line.
| Product | Size | Caffeine | Limit per day |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alani Nu Mini | 8.4 oz (248 mL) | 100 mg | Not stated on label |
| Alani Nu Energy | 12 oz (355 mL) | 200 mg | Not stated on label |
| Celsius Original | 12 oz (355 mL) | 200 mg | Not stated on label |
| Celsius Essentials | 16 oz (473 mL) | 270 mg | 1 per day (on-can warning) |
Two standard cans of either brand equals 400 mg, the amount the FDA has cited as the upper end "not generally associated with negative effects" for most healthy adults. For more on daily limits, read how many energy drinks a day is too many.
Alani vs Celsius Ingredients: What Is Actually Different
Walk the two ingredient lists side by side and the overlap is obvious. Both start with carbonated water, citric acid and taurine. Both include guarana seed extract, glucuronolactone and B vitamins. The differences sit in the middle of the list.
Alani adds:
- L-theanine. Listed on the label, but the amount is not printed. (Some comparison sites cite "200 mg L-theanine" for Alani; that figure comes from the Alani pre-workout, not the energy drink. The can does not state the dose.)
- L-carnitine L-tartrate. Amount not disclosed.
- Panax ginseng root extract. Amount not disclosed.
- Acesulfame potassium (Ace-K). A second non-nutritive sweetener alongside sucralose.
- Inositol. Amount not disclosed.
Celsius adds:
- Green tea extract. Contains EGCG. Amount not disclosed.
- Ginger root extract. Amount not disclosed.
- Chromium at 50 mcg (140% DV).
- Vitamin C at 60 mg (70% DV).
- Higher biotin: 300 mcg (1,000% DV) vs Alani's 30 mcg (100% DV).
Neither brand prints amounts for taurine or guarana. You are trusting the proprietary blend order on the label, which lists ingredients by weight but does not tell you the dose.
Full ingredient statements are transcribed from alaninu.com and celsius.com.
Sucralose in Both, Plus Ace-K in Alani
Both Alani Nu and original Celsius use sucralose as their primary sweetener. Alani adds a second sweetener, acesulfame potassium (Ace-K). Original Celsius uses sucralose only, per the current US label. If you move up to Celsius Essentials, that line also includes Ace-K alongside sucralose.
So the only way to avoid Ace-K between these two brands, based on current US labels, is the original 12 oz Celsius.
Neither brand uses stevia. If stevia is what you are looking for, the comparison shifts entirely. See sucralose vs stevia for a full breakdown of how the two sweeteners differ.
Does Celsius Burn Fat? What the Can Itself Says
Celsius markets its MetaPlus blend with thermogenic language. But printed on the can is this disclaimer: "CELSIUS alone does not produce weight loss in the absence of a healthy diet and moderate exercise."
Alani Nu does not make a thermogenic or fat-burning claim on its energy drink product page. For a closer look at the Celsius claim and the research behind it, read does Celsius actually burn fat.
Alani vs Celsius Price per Can
Alani sells direct. Celsius does not sell cans on celsius.com; its "Buy Now" button links to an Amazon listing.
| Channel | Alani Nu 12-pack | Celsius 12-pack |
|---|---|---|
| One-time | $29.99 ($2.50/can) | ~$23.67 ($1.97/can) |
| Subscribe | $28.49 ($2.37/can) | ~$22.49 ($1.87/can) |
| Caffeine per dollar (one-time) | 80 mg/$1 | ~101 mg/$1 |
Sources: alaninu.com for Alani; Amazon listing Celsius links to for Celsius, checked October 4, 2026. Amazon prices change daily, so check before you buy.
Celsius delivers roughly 26% more caffeine per dollar at these prices. If you drink one can a day, the monthly cost difference is about $16 (Alani) vs $12 (Celsius) on subscription.
Who Owns Alani Nu?
Celsius Holdings, Inc. completed its acquisition of Alani Nutrition LLC on April 1, 2025, for $1.8 billion including $150 million in tax assets (net purchase price: $1.65 billion), in a mix of cash and stock.
What that means for you as a buyer: both brands share a parent company, but the formulas and labels remain separate. Alani keeps its own ingredient list, its own flavors and its own price structure. Choosing between them is still a product decision, not a brand-loyalty decision.
If You Want the Caffeine Without a Can
Some people just want the caffeine, not a 12 oz drink. Here is how the options compare by use case.
| Product | Best for | Caffeine | Format | Price per serving |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alani Nu | Flavor variety, plus a smaller 100 mg Mini option | 200 mg (standard) / 100 mg (Mini) | 12 oz can / 8.4 oz can | $2.50 / $2.08 |
| Celsius Original | Lowest price per can of the two, zero carbs | 200 mg | 12 oz can | ~$1.97 |
| Celsius Essentials | Highest single dose, 270 mg, one per day | 270 mg | 16 oz can | Varies (Amazon) |
| Roon | Caffeine without a drink, sugar or nicotine | 80 mg + 60 mg L-theanine | Oral pouch (Cool Mint) | From $0.61 (subscription) |
No single option wins for everyone. The best choice depends on whether you value dose size, duration, portability or price.
Alani vs Celsius: Which One Should You Buy?
The labels are closer than most comparison articles suggest. Same caffeine, same calories, same primary sweetener, same parent company.
Pick on the real differences. If you care about keeping carbs at zero and want the cheaper can, Celsius wins. If you want L-theanine in your energy drink and prefer the Alani flavor lineup, Alani wins. If you want to avoid Ace-K, stick with original 12 oz Celsius (check the current US label to confirm). If you want 270 mg in one serving, Celsius Essentials is the only option between the two brands, but respect its one-a-day warning.
Check the healthiest energy drinks ranked by label for a broader picture, or Bloom energy drink, label by label for another popular option in the same cooler.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Alani or Celsius healthier?
Neither brand is categorically healthier. Both deliver 200 mg caffeine and 10 calories per 12 oz can with zero sugar. Alani has roughly 170-200 mg sodium (varies by flavor) vs Celsius's 5 mg, which matters if you track sodium. Celsius adds vitamin C and chromium; Alani adds L-theanine and ginseng. Pick based on which extras you actually want, not a blanket "healthier" label.
Which has more caffeine, Alani or Celsius?
Standard cans are identical at 200 mg per 12 oz. Celsius pulls ahead with its Essentials line at 270 mg per 16 oz. Alani goes lower with its Mini at 100 mg per 8.4 oz. If you are comparing can to can in the same cooler, the caffeine is the same.
Does Alani Nu have L-theanine?
Yes, L-theanine appears in the Alani Nu energy drink ingredient list. The amount is not printed on the can. Any "200 mg" figure you may see online refers to the Alani Nu pre-workout powder, not the energy drink.
Is Celsius owned by Alani?
It is the other way around. Celsius Holdings acquired Alani Nu on April 1, 2025. Alani Nu is now a subsidiary of Celsius Holdings, Inc. The two brands maintain separate product lines and formulas.
Can you drink Alani and Celsius in the same day?
Each standard can is 200 mg, so two cans from either brand (or one of each) puts you at 400 mg, the upper limit the FDA cites as not generally associated with negative effects for most adults. A third can would push you past that threshold. Count all your caffeine sources, not just energy drinks.
Who should not drink Alani or Celsius?
Both labels carry nearly identical warnings. Alani Nu: "Not Recommended for Children, People Sensitive to Caffeine, Pregnant Women or Women Who are Nursing." Celsius: not recommended for people who are caffeine sensitive, children under 18, or women pregnant or nursing. If you take medication or have a health condition, talk to your doctor before adding 200 mg of caffeine to your day.
Same Company, Same 200 mg. A Different Shape of Caffeine
You came here for a tiebreaker between two cans. You found they share a parent company, the same 200 mg of caffeine and the same primary sweetener. The real remaining question may not be which can but whether you need a can at all.
Caffeine Without the Can
Roon is 80 mg caffeine, 60 mg L-theanine, 25 mg methylliberine (Dynamine) and 5 mg theacrine (TeaCrine) in a zero-nicotine, zero-sugar oral pouch. The dose is smaller than either can. What it trades in raw milligrams, it buys in duration. Methylliberine slowed caffeine clearance in a randomized, double-blind, crossover PK study (n = 12): caffeine's half-life extended from 7.2 to 15 hours with no increase in peak concentration. That study used 100 mg methylliberine with 150 mg caffeine, roughly 4x Roon's methylliberine and 1.9x its caffeine, so the direction of the effect applies, not the exact numbers. Roon's felt window is 6 to 8 hours, not 15. Same peak, longer tail. The trade-off: a longer half-life means you should stop at least 8 hours before bed.
Roon also uses sucralose, so it is not a clean-label escape from either can. It is zero sugar, zero calories, onset in 5 to 10 minutes, and fits in a pocket. Tins start at $9.16 on a 12-tin subscription ($0.61 per pouch) or $15.00 one-time for four tins ($1.00 per pouch). A 30-day money-back guarantee covers your first order only. If you want the caffeine without the drink, try Roon.
Related from Roon
- How much caffeine is in every Alani Nu can and stick
- Caffeine in every Celsius line
- Is Celsius bad for you
- Does Celsius actually burn fat
Written by Roon Team






