Nicotine-Free Dip and Chew Brands, Checked Label by Label

Nicotine-Free Dip and Chew Brands, Checked Label by Label
Nicotine-free dip brands that list no tobacco and no nicotine on their own labels include Black Buffalo ZERO (barn-cured leafy greens), SMKY MTN (corn silk and kudzu root), BaccOff, and Jake's Mint Chew. Check the can: regular Black Buffalo is tobacco-free but contains nicotine, and Outlaw's dip now contains 6-methylnicotine. Most cans run $4.30 to $7.00. Grinds and Berserker add caffeine instead.
Key Takeaways
- "Tobacco-free" does not mean "nicotine-free." Black Buffalo's nicotine line and Outlaw's reformulated dip prove the point. Every brand below is sorted by what its own label says.
- Herbal long-cut options exist. Black Buffalo ZERO Long Cut, SMKY MTN Herbal Long Cut (10 flavors), and BaccOff's long-cut, fine-cut, and rough-cut lines all mimic loose dip with zero nicotine.
- Price per can ranges from $4.30 (Jake's, 10-tin case) to $7.99 (SMKY MTN NOO).
- Some brands add caffeine. Grinds (3 to 100 mg), Berserker (100 mg), BaccOff coffee pouches (50 mg per serving), and SMKY MTN Caffeine Pouches (~50 mg).
Nicotine-Free or Not: The Brand Table
| Brand / Line | Nicotine? | Brand's wording | Base | Formats | Price/can (one-time) | Caffeine |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Black Buffalo ZERO | No | "contain zero nicotine" | Leafy greens | Pouches, long cut | $5.49 (5-roll) | 0 mg |
| Black Buffalo (regular) | Yes | "same nicotine content as traditional tobacco pouches" | Leafy greens | Pouches, long cut | $5.49 (5-roll) | None listed |
| SMKY MTN Herbal Long Cut | No | "tobacco-free and nicotine-free" | Corn silk, kudzu | Long cut | $4.70 (10-pk) | 0 mg |
| SMKY MTN Caffeine Pouches | No | Same | Not disclosed (caffeine from green tea extract) | Pouches | $4.70 (10-pk) | ~50 mg |
| SMKY MTN NOO Energy + Focus | No | Same | Not disclosed | Pouches | $7.99 (5-carton) | ~80 mg |
| BaccOff | No | "Dip with no tobacco and no nicotine" | Not disclosed | Long/fine/rough cut, pouches | $4.85 (10-pk) | 0 mg; coffee pouches 50 mg per serving |
| Jake's Mint Chew | No | "nicotine and tobacco free" | Mint | Pouches | $4.30 (10-case) | 0 mg |
| Outlaw FAT/Fine Cut | 6-methylnicotine | "contain Nixodine (6-methylnicotine)" | Tea leaf | Loose | $7.00 (min. 3) | None listed |
| Outlaw Reloads | 6-MN (3, 7, 15 mg) | Same | Tea leaf | Pouches | $7.00 (min. 3) | None listed |
| Grinds Coffee Pouches | No | "100% tobacco-free and nicotine-free" | Coffee | Pouches | $5.00 (10-pk) | 3-100 mg |
| Berserker | No | "tobacco-free and nicotine-free" | Not disclosed | Pouches | $7.60 (single or 5-pack) | 100 mg |
| Roon | No | Zero nicotine (best for caffeine focus, no dip feel) | Not a dip | Cool Mint pouches | From $9.16 (sub) | 80 mg |
Source: brand product pages, prices checked Oct 2026.
How We Sorted These
Disclosure: Roon makes a caffeine pouch and this page links to it. Every number comes from each brand's own product page so you can verify it. We compared published labels, prices, and ingredient lists. We did not lab-test or use-test any of these products. Price per can was computed from the listed pack price divided by cans in the pack.
Is Tobacco-Free Dip the Same as Nicotine-Free?
No. A product can be tobacco-free and still deliver nicotine. Black Buffalo's nicotine line uses a leafy-greens base instead of tobacco, so the label says "tobacco-free," but the pouches contain nicotine. The Straight Long Cut states "approximately 7.5 mg of total nicotine per gram" on its product page.
Outlaw Dip adds another layer. Its current FAT Cut, Fine Cut, and Reloads formulas contain Nixodine, a patented 6-methylnicotine produced by Bonguard Naturals. Reloads list 3, 7, and 15 mg strengths. Under federal law, a "tobacco product" is "any product made or derived from tobacco, or containing nicotine from any source" (21 U.S.C. 321(rr)). How nicotine analogs such as 6-methylnicotine fit that definition is still open: the FDA was reviewing them in 2024.
Nicotine-Free Dip Brands, One by One
1. Black Buffalo ZERO (Best for: realistic dip feel)
Barn-cured leafy greens base, "contain zero nicotine." Five flavors: Wintergreen, Mint, Straight, Peach, Blood Orange. Pouches and long cut (Wintergreen only, 1.2 oz can). $6.00 single, $5.49/can in a 5-can roll. Pro: five pouch flavors plus a long cut, all with zero nicotine. Con: "Limited quantities in small batch runs."
2. SMKY MTN (Best for: flavor range, retail availability)
Corn silk and kudzu root base, selling tobacco-free herbal snuff since 1985. Herbal Long Cut in 10 flavors, ZERO Herbal Pouches (2 flavors, caffeine-free), Caffeine Pouches (~50 mg), and NOO Energy + Focus (~80 mg caffeine). $4.70/can in 10-packs; $7.99/can for NOO. Listings also appear at Walmart and Sportsman's Warehouse. Con: the brand site sells 5- and 10-can packs rather than single cans.
3. BaccOff (Best for: format variety)
Described as a "Dip with no tobacco and no nicotine" (Classic Mint Long Cut). Long cut, fine cut, rough cut, and pouches. Coffee pouches contain 50 mg caffeine per serving, as BaccOff words it. $6.00/can in a 3-pack, $4.85/can in a 10-pack. Con: sold only in multi-packs.
4. Jake's Mint Chew (Best for: lowest per-can price)
Mint base, nicotine-free, ~18 to 20 pouches per tin. $4.30/tin in a 10-tin case ($42.99). Pro: cheapest option here. Con: sold in 10-tin cases only on the brand's site, no single tins.
5. Grinds Coffee Pouches (Best for: caffeine with flavor variety)
Coffee base, nicotine-free, ~18 pouches per can. Caffeine ranges from 3 mg to 100 mg by flavor. $5.95 single, $5.00/can in a 10-pack. Con: caffeine varies wildly by flavor, so check labels.
6. Berserker (Best for: highest caffeine)
100 mg caffeine per pouch, 20 pouches per can, nicotine-free. Also lists Alpha-GPC, L-tyrosine, GABA, taurine, and theobromine (doses not published). $7.60 single or in a 5-pack ($38.00). Con: 100 mg per pouch is a large dose to start on.
Tobacco-Free but NOT Nicotine-Free
Black Buffalo (regular): Contains nicotine. The Straight Long Cut lists ~7.5 mg nicotine per gram. Look for "ZERO" on the lid for the nicotine-free version.
Outlaw FAT Cut, Fine Cut, Reloads: Contain 6-methylnicotine (Nixodine). Only Outlaw's Berserker caffeine line is free of both nicotine and 6-methylnicotine.
Best Nicotine-Free Long Cut and Loose-Leaf Chew
Three brands carry nicotine-free long-cut or loose options:
- Black Buffalo ZERO Long Cut: Wintergreen only, 1.2 oz per can, $5.49/can in a 5-roll.
- SMKY MTN Herbal Long Cut: 10 flavors, corn silk and kudzu root, $4.70/can in a 10-pack.
- BaccOff: Long cut, fine cut, and rough cut (the only brand with a rough-cut option), $4.85/can in a 10-pack.
What Dippers Report
KillTheCan.org, a community site for people quitting tobacco, has user reviews of several brands here. A Black Buffalo long-cut review noted the ZERO and nicotine cans look nearly identical. BaccOff reviews are mixed. These are individual opinions, not controlled studies.
How These Products Are Regulated
Products with no tobacco and no nicotine appear to fall outside the federal definition of a tobacco product (21 U.S.C. 321(rr)), though that is our reading, not an FDA ruling on any herbal dip brand. Nicotine analogs such as 6-methylnicotine are a different case and are under FDA review. This page is written for adults 21 and older, and many retailers apply a 21+ policy to every dip product.
Related from Roon
- Best Chewing Tobacco Alternatives
- Black Buffalo ZERO Pouches Review
- Outlaw Dip Review
- Coffee Dip Pouches: What They Are
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Black Buffalo have nicotine?
The regular line does. Black Buffalo's nicotine pouches are described as having "same nicotine content as traditional tobacco pouches," and the Straight Long Cut lists ~7.5 mg nicotine per gram. The ZERO line states "contain zero nicotine." Check for "ZERO" on the can lid.
Does Outlaw dip have nicotine?
Outlaw's FAT Cut, Fine Cut, and Reloads contain 6-methylnicotine (Nixodine), a nicotine analog, not nicotine itself. Reloads come in 3, 7, and 15 mg strengths. Only the Berserker caffeine pouch line contains neither.
Is herbal snuff bad for your teeth?
No long-term studies on these specific brands have been published. Holding any material between gum and cheek can irritate soft tissue, and sweeteners and flavorings vary by brand. Talk to your dentist about any oral-use product.
How do I tell a ZERO can from a nicotine can?
Read the lid. Black Buffalo sells ZERO and nicotine versions in a similar look, and a KillTheCan reviewer noted the two cans are easy to confuse. Look for "ZERO" on the lid and "zero nicotine" in the product description, and check the brand's own page if the can is unclear.
Is there a nicotine-free dip with caffeine?
Yes. Grinds offers 3 to 100 mg per pouch depending on flavor. Berserker provides a flat 100 mg across 11 flavors. BaccOff coffee pouches contain 50 mg per serving, and SMKY MTN Caffeine Pouches deliver ~50 mg from green tea extract.
When You Want the Lift Without the Can
Every brand above answers the same question: what goes in my lip instead? Some use mint, some use corn silk, some grind coffee into a pouch. They replace the ritual.
Roon is a sublingual caffeine pouch, not a dip and not a nicotine product. It combines 80 mg caffeine, 60 mg L-theanine, 25 mg methylliberine (Dynamine), and 5 mg theacrine (TeaCrine) for a 6-to-8-hour focus window with no jitters and no crash. The duration comes from methylliberine slowing caffeine clearance: a randomized, double-blind, crossover PK study (n=12) measured caffeine's oral clearance dropping from 41.9 to 17.1 L/hr and its half-life extending from 7.2 to 15 hours when co-administered with methylliberine, with no higher peak. That study dosed 100 mg methylliberine with 150 mg caffeine, roughly 4x the methylliberine and 1.9x the caffeine in a Roon pouch, so Roon's window reflects the same mechanism directionally, not the study's exact numbers. Fifteen hours of half-life is not 15 hours of felt energy. Because the tail is longer, keep your last pouch at least 8 hours before you plan to sleep.
Berserker's 100 mg is the bigger single number; Roon's 80 mg is chosen for duration and control, not to top a caffeine ranking. One pouch is 80 mg, about a small coffee. Want more punch? Many people double-pouch (160 mg) or add another later in the day; do what feels right for you. Keep it to 4 pouches a day and 400 mg of caffeine a day from all sources, the FDA's figure for healthy adults.
Tins start from $9.16 with a subscription. Try Roon.
Sources
- FDA: Section 101 of the Tobacco Control Act, "tobacco product" definition
- Black Buffalo ZERO product page
- Outlaw Dip: 6-methylnicotine disclosure
- SMKY MTN Long Cut
- BaccOff (DipStop)
- Jake's Mint Chew
- Grinds FAQ
- Berserker Pouches FAQ
- KSL: FDA on nicotine-like chemicals (2024)
- Caffeine and Methylliberine PK Study
Written by Roon Team






